The Widowed Box

Recently I went to the dentist for my regular checkup.
I arrived on time — strangely enough — and sat down to fill out my New Patient paperwork.

And there it was. Yet again.
That little reminder. (As if I needed one.)

I thought to myself…. Seriously?
What difference does it make to you if the person I married died?
Are you going to treat me differently?
Am I going to get better customer service because you know that? Because you feel sorry for me?

It doesn’t ask me how I came to have this box-checking honor. Maybe they just found a loophole in the system, a little opportunity to peek into the depths of my life with such a simple, seemingly nonchalant question as: Marital Status? I wonder if we would all be okay with it if they asked us something else just as personal. Can you imagine applying for credit and you have to answer whether or not you’ve ever cheated in a relationship? Or if your parents where married when you were born? Check yes or no.

What does it matter?
What difference does it make to you if the person I married died?
It doesn’t.

Yet I still checked that fucking box.

2 responses to “The Widowed Box

  1. I have an anxiety attack when I have to follow up with doctors who we haven’t seen in awhile. Have to change the insurance, and then there is surely the question of…. And Michael’s information is that still the same??
    Well no Michael has moved, you can find him at the same address but in care of black urn in the top of my closet.
    I tell them he died(I wont say passed) and its just me, and then my gut aches for the rest of the day.

    • I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you posting this comment. It’s strangely comforting to know I’m not the only one that feels this way. I am sorry for your loss, but I love your humor and honesty in the face of such pain.

Leave a Reply

