It’s Your Birthday and I’ll Cry If I Want To

On what would have been his 40th birthday today, I’ve been thinking that I need to honor it somehow. I’ve been struggling to find the words and get them out, but then I realized… maybe I don’t need to.

Tonight our daughter will be attending the Wonders & Worries 2012 Wonder Ball, a magical evening for little girls who have lost a parent — complete with dancing, fairy miniature horses, a royal court, entertainment, face painting, crafts, ice cream, a balloon lagoon, and grand tiara crowning ceremony.

The event just happened to fall on his birthday. So I hope he’ll be watching her tonight as she dances around in her princess dress and tiara, and catches the balloons that she’s so excited to send up to him.

Semper in corde meo.

 

4 responses to “It’s Your Birthday and I’ll Cry If I Want To

  1. It’s seems so little to say there… but sending you warmth on such a significant day… what a special connection for your daughter… I would have loved it if my Dad was remembered in such a way… for that is how I would have understood it when I was her age… that the party was deliberately on his birthday and that everyone in the world seemed to be remembering how very awesome he was.

Leave a Reply

